top of page


No King, No Country

The Inness Legacy, Book 1

It’s the Year of Our Lord 1650.  Oliver Cromwell and the forces of Parliament have overthrown the King of England after six years of vicious civil war.  The country is eager for peace, but there is anger in Cromwell’s victorious army.  The men who fought for Parliament paid in blood to defeat the Royalists and secure their rights, but in Cromwell’s England rights are reserved for only certain Englishmen.  As unrest sweeps through the army, Captain William Inness speaks up for his men, challenging Parliament to honor its promises.  For this he’s accused of a crime he didn’t commit and faces the gallows.  Where does a man run in Cromwell’s England to escape the hangman?  As far as you can. 

As far as America.

No King No Country_Ebook_0.75x.jpg

Order Now

A Question of Honour

The Saga of Roland Inness, Book 7

Roland Inness and the Invalid Company are called to France as King Richard fights King Philip for control of Normandy.  In a brutal war where mercenaries lay waste to the land and take no prisoners, victory is prized far more than honour.  While Roland and the Invalids fight for the King, William de Ferrers buys his way out of exile to once more ravage the Midlands and threaten all that Roland holds dear.  Can Roland Inness survive the war, face his old enemy, and keep his honour untarnished? 

Order Now

Cover Final.jpg

Declan O'Duinne

The Saga of Roland Inness, Book 6

With King Richard making war on the French and Prince Llywelyn consolidating power in Wales, peace prevails across England and the Welsh Marches.  But bloody strife rages in the north of Ireland, drawing Declan O’Duinne back to his homeland. He’s been ten years gone, but some things never change.  The Anglo-Normans relentlessly expand their Irish domains while the Irish kings fight amongst themselves.  Can Declan and his fellow knight, Roland Inness, help save what’s left of free Ireland?

Declan thumbnail.jpg

Order Now

A Prince of Wales

The Saga of Roland Inness, Book 5

With King Richard’s return from captivity and Prince John’s exile, a weary peace settles on England after years of civil war.  But across the border in Wales, the vicious struggle to decide who shall rule Gwynedd still rages.  To tip the balance, the rebel Prince, Llywelyn, calls in an old debt from the Earl of Chester.  The Prince saved the Earl’s life and helped him take back his city.  Now, he wants Sir Roland Inness and the Invalid Company to help him take back his country.

Order Now

A Prince of Wales_pb4.jpeg

The Ransomed Crown

The Saga of Roland Inness, Book 4

King Richard has made peace with Saladin, but must run a gauntlet of enemies to get home from the Crusade.  While England waits for her King, Prince John spares neither lives nor fortune to usurp his brother’s crown. Roland Inness, Declan O’Duinne and Millicent de Laval once more find themselves at the center of a growing civil war.  Each will play a crucial role in deciding who will ultimately sit on the throne of England.

Order Now

The Ransomed Crown.jpeg

The Broken Realm

The Saga of Roland Inness, Book 3

Roland Inness has been knighted for valor at the siege of Acre and sent home to England with a vital message for Queen Eleanor.  But his homecoming proves to be as violent and dangerous as the Crusade he left behind him.  He finds his home burned and his master’s family gone—made fugitives by his sworn enemy William de Ferrers.  As Philip of France and Prince John conspire to end King Richard’s rule, Roland, Declan and Millicent must fight for their lives and to hold the King’s broken realm together.

The Broken Realm_pb-final.jpeg

Order Now


The Saga of Roland Inness, Book 2

Having found his place as a squire to a Norman knight, Roland Inness sets off with his master, Sir Roger de Laval, and fellow squire on a perilous mission to the Holy Land.  Joining them is the Templar Knight, Tuck, as they contend with Moors, Berbers and a Sicilian usurper before reaching the battlefields in the east.  There, Roland sees the ugly face of war and tests his mettle.  In England, the land is awash in political intrigue, led by Prince John and Sir William de Ferrers, Roland's mortal enemy. Countering them is Queen Eleanor who picks Sir Roger's daughter, Millicent, for a dangerous mission—one that puts her at the center of a plot to turn England against King Richard.


Order Now


The Saga of Roland Inness, Book 1

Roland Inness desperately needs meat for his starving family, but he takes the wrong deer on the wrong nobleman’s land. Worse yet, he uses his longbow, a weapon outlawed and suppressed by the Norman overlords of England. Now they are coming for him. With one shot the 14 year old peasant boy is launched on a desperate flight that takes him from the mountains of Derbyshire to the wild frontier of Wales and on to the court of Richard the Lionheart. He will need all of his skill and his courage to survive the journey.

Order Now

bottom of page